Saying Goodbye to Out Of The Vines

I would have to go back and find my old Blogspot website to tell you exactly when I started writing about the Chicago Cubs (generally) and their prospects (specifically). It feels like ages ago and I guess that nearly eight years truly is a completely different lifetime.

Since I created this little blog called Out Of The Vines, I have started college, watched the Cubs win the World Series, graduated college, moved to a new city, began my real-life career, gotten engaged, and had countless experiences that have run parallel to the work I’ve done within the baseball writing universe.

There have been months when I wrote dozens of articles here, and years when I’ve been more absent because, ya know, life happens. It’s been fun looking back at this blog that I’ve run by myself for all this time to see how the work I’ve done corresponds to those big life moments.

But with more major changes coming in my life and truly incredible relationships I’ve built in this writing sphere, now seems like the perfect time to put an unofficial end to Out Of The Vines.

I’ve had the pleasure of (along with three great friends) launching a brand new website dedicated to the Chicago Cubs farm system. If you’ve missed it over the course of the last few weeks, the project is called North Side Bound and it’s a site that I think has been severely missed in the Cubs writing scene. My work with North Side Bound means it’s time to close down Out Of The Vines.

The work I’ll be putting out won’t change and my voice will still be found in those articles on North Side Bound and my usual work over at Cubs Insider. I’ll still be podcasting on an extremely regular basis with my co-host Jimmy at the Growing Cubs Pod. I’ll be tweeting far too often where my handle will remain @OutOfTheVines as a nod to this very blog.

There are a lot of changes going on in my life right now and it’s going to be so fun to look back in another eight years and think about the importance of this change in my writing world in addition to my life outside of this glorious hobby of mine. Growth is so important on a personal and professional level and I’m so excited to move on to this new project.

Thank you so much for following along at Out Of The Vines and I hope you stick with me to my new endeavors.

Leave a comment