Mid-Week Buzz: Instructs Roster Makes Me Feel Some Type of Way

Photo of James Triantos by Rich Biesterfeld (@biest22)

What I’m Reading

• The minor league season might be over for most of the Cubs affiliates (excluding Iowa and the DSL) but the end of the season butted right up to the beginning of the Arizona Instructional League. Remember that? It was our only taste of game action for minor leaguers in the 2020 season. It might not be quite as talked about this year compared to last, but the ridiculously talented list of names is enough to keep it on your radar, and AZ Phil has you covered.

• I wrote something about Daniel Palencia because man, does the kid deserve it. He came over in the Andrew Chafin deal and was labeled as the throw-in piece. But based on his pitches (mid-90s heat, pretty curve and cutter) you he should never be called a throw-in.

What I’m Watching

• We might be sleeping on Tyler Schlaffer a bit. I’m going to give him a long, hard look when I go to update my prospects lists this offseason. Look at this pitch mix!

• Brennen Davis. Man. The dude is on another planet.

• There isn’t a single hitter in the system that I’m more excited to see take the field in full-season ball next year than James Triantos. And it’s not even close. Okay, maybe a little close… Reggie Preciado, Kevin Alcantara, Cristian Hernandez… you get the point though.

• I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: don’t get too hung up on Ed Howard’s offensive output this season. But you should absolutely get hung up on his defensive chops, which are exquisite.

What I’m Tweeting

• I watched Frank The Tank take BP as soon as he was acquired. I had no idea he would turn into *this*

What’s Catching My Eye

• Alfonso Rivas went down with a finger injury and will be out the rest of the year but during his time with the big league club, he proved that he can be exactly what we thought he was. He’s a plus defensive first baseman, can dabble in the corner outfield, and will put together great plate appearances (albeit with limited power). That’s enough to warrant a discussion for the opening day roster as a (1) strong side platoon first baseman that (2) also gets starts in other matchups in LF while (3) providing a good profile as a pinch hitter off the bench on off-days.

Leave a comment